León Bloy: The Sword

Antiwar literary and philosophical selections

Anti-war essays, poems, short stories and literary excerpts

León Bloy
From León Bloy devant les Cochons (1894)
Translated by John Coleman

images

The lament of the sword. The first time the Spirit of Sabaoth spoke about me, it was to keep men from forgetting that I had been seen all aflame on the threshold of the lost Eden.

***

At once I became War, and my fearful Name everywhere became the sign of Majesty.

I appeared as the sublime instrument of Providential blood-letting and, in my wonderful unawareness as the Elect of Fate, I espoused through the centuries every human feeling capable of speeding Fate on.

Anger, Love, Enthusiasm, Greed, Fanaticism and Insanity I served in so perfect a fashion that the history books have been afraid to tell the whole story.

During six thousand years I have made myself drunk, at all points of the globe, on massacre and throat-slitting.

View original post 259 woorden meer

Een reactie plaatsen

Opgeslagen onder Geen categorie

Geef een reactie

